Senate Confirms Seven Nominees As INEC Commissioners


The Nigerian Senate on Wednesday confirmed seven nominees appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari as National Commissioners and Resident Electoral Commissioner of the Independent National Electoral Commission ) INEC.

The confirmation of the nominees was sequel to the consideration of a report by the Senate Committee on INEC.

Those confirmed are Mal. Mohammed Haruna (Niger – North Central, National Commissioner); Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu (Delta – South-South, National Commissioner); Ukeagu Kenneth Nnamdi (Abia – South East, National Commissioner); and Major General A. B. Alkali (Rtd) – Adamawa (North East, National Commissioner).

Others were Engr. (Prof.) Rhoda H. Gumus (Bayelsa – South-South, National Commissioner); Mr. Sam Olumekun (Ondo – South West, National Commissioner); and Olaniyi Olaleye Ijalaye (Ondo – South West, Resident Commissioner).

The Chairman of the Committee, Senator Kabiru Gaya, APC, Kano South recalled that the confirmation request was made by President Muhammadu Buhari in compliance with the provision of Section 153(1)(f) of the Constitution, and pursuant to the provision of Section 154(1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended).

See also  Former Ekiti governor, Fayose, resigns from PDP


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here